Skip to main content

Iceman 4 Review

And.. Iceman #4 continues the trend that we've seen before. Thankfully the art gets a little better in this issue, but story is still lacking.

So kid from issue 2 earlier who is apparently "Zack Attack" now has run off with Daken because he wasn't happy at the school for some reason? And can now use his powers openly. This really made no sense especially since the kid wasn't developed at all. We have Bobby talking about how this kid is all about gaming and living in his room, but Zack wants to be free and see the world? Honestly this just shows how little Bobby really knows about this kid and how he SUCKS as a teacher and as a guidance for future X-Men. We saw this before and it's really disheartening in his own title to see Bobby being so.. incompetent. We should be building him up, not tearing him down.

So anyhow Bobby comes up with some scheme to get the kid back by wearing a suit. He runs into Daken, serial rapist, out of no where and realizes the kid has been seduced by Daken and Daken has randomly started his own young mutant training program? Again this is way out of the blue and makes no sense, but hey.. roll with it. It'll all pay off with nothing and probably never be mentioned again in any other X-Men title. While Bobby quickly defeats Daken, a nice addition for a change, we of course get the Apocalypse name dropping again cause apparently in all the years Iceman has been a hero and a member of the X-Men, X-Factor, New Defenders, and Champions his only real accomplishment and baddie he's taken down was Apocalypse once. Bobby tries to convince "Zack Attack" to come back to the mansion by talking down to him and treating him like he's stupid, which obviously works wonderfully and Zack escapes. Daken is seemingly trapped, but Daken basically tells Bobby he's a useless wannabe and Bobby just takes it.. sorta?

Bobby comes back to the school and is like "Well good thing the kid is gone. Didn't like him anyway" and Kitty is talking about something else. They talk across each other until Bobby's parents come through the door and Bobby blurts out that he's gay. So yeah.. we've had 4 issues about Bobby coming out, 3 dealing with him coming out to parents whom he hasn't really spent time with since he was at least 16 (I think he was actually 13-14 when he joined the X-Men as the youngest member). So why is this a big drawn out thing to come out to his parents, who haven't been much of parents, don't really like him, and he doesn't like much either? I just don't get this.. at all. On any level. Can someone explain to me why we're wasting so much time with this awkward/weird coming out that was completely and utterly unnecessary? Wouldn't the story have been served much better by making it a quick one and done thing, if it even needed that? (I really contend that Bobby coming out to bio family is VASTLY less important than his coming out process to his real family, the X-Men, but obviously not to this writer who.... doesn't seem to know much about the X-Men).

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Katana at Super Hero High Review

I'm obviously addicted to DC Super Hero Girls. As I've said previously, I've pretty much consumed everything that is DC Super Hero Girls up until this point. So here's a review on the newest book, Katana at Super Hero High  by the always amazing and talented Lisa Yee. This is the 4th book in the series after Wonder Woman, Supergirl, and Batgirl all got their own books and this one is finally a breath of fresh air of newness. The first 3 books all focus on the concept of a new girl coming to school, struggling to fit in and accepting her place at this elite new school. There were slight variations on the theme, but that's basically it. Wonder Woman and Supergirl felt very similar as they both dealt with similar issues and Batgirl had slightly different perspective, but it still felt like we've tread over this material before. With Katana, we've finally got a new perspective. Katana is not the new girl at school, she's established with friends from the pre...

Why does trade vs. Graphic Novel matter and how to tell the difference

So someone challenged me recently that none of this remotely matters if it is a trade paperback or if it is a graphic novel.. and someone else expressed frustration in not being able to tell what is reprinted.. This blog post is going to cover both.. so hang on to your seats. Why does it matter? Well simple.. they're different terms and mean different things, just like Anime and Manga mean different things even though they are related and in the same industry. But besides that, there is a difference between say the Sandman graphic novel and the Sandman trades. How? OK.. So Sandman has 11 trades now (From Preludes and Nocturnes to the Wake and then the prequel/ending The Overture ) and there are 2 graphic novels ( Dream Hunters and Endless Nights) The trades tell the serialized story from beginning to end and recent beginning that brings the whole thing full circle again. That story is reprinted from the original series 1-75 and Overture 1-6. This is important to note because a...

Marvel cancellation "blood bath" recommendations

Many of you have noticed that Marvel recently cancelled a ton of titles. Those would be America , Iceman , Luke Cage , Gwenpool , Hawkeye, Generation X , and Defenders. I know it's a sad time if you were a fan of any of these. It's also going to suck for patrons to discover their favorite comic is gone, but here are some recommendations to fill the void (maybe?). Harley Quinn - obvious replacement for Gwenpool since well.. they hit a lot of the same notes. Insane over the top fun with a female lead who is having too much fun. Harley also gathers up a group of people like her to form her gang. Oh bonus: Harley Quinn is openly bisexual and in a relationship with her girlfriend, Poison Ivy. The Question by Greg Rucka - an option to read if you were enjoying America, Renee Montoya is an amazing Latina Lesbian who grows a lot as a person and a hero. She comes out in Gotham Central and becomes the Question in 52 . But the 2 Question trades deal with Renee trying to uncove...